Debugging in C

When I break out the GNU debugger (gdb command), it is unwillingly. I am dragged, kicking and screaming inside, to the realization that I have a substantial memory management issue in my C program that no amount of print statements will help me wrap my mind around. And only rarely does gdb actually help me isolate my issue. More often than not, I sink lots of time into that dark abyss, only to return to my print statements and banging my head against the wall until I recognize the problem and necessary solution.

Call me old fashioned, but the vast majority of my debugging is done with print statements. I’d like to think they’re thoughtfully placed to maximize diagnostic power, but honestly it’s usually just a messy process that sometimes generates more confusion before it yields enlightenment. Notwithstanding, this is still the quickest and most effective approach I’ve found to troubleshooting.

I recently came across a small utility that assists with debugging in C. It’s a single header file that will drop in easily to any C project, with a non-restrictive MIT license that permits any use (including commercial) as long as attribution is made to the original author.

What do I like about this little utility? What does it give me over my trusty fprintf statements? Not a whole lot honestly, but what it does provide is nice.

  • As mentioned before, it’s dead simple to integrate. Just drop it into your includes directory and use it immediately.
  • It uses some C11 magic to grab and print the variable name for you. More than half of the time I spend writing debugging print statements is spent formatting strings like ID=%s length=%d, so having this handled automagically is a huge potential time saver.
  • All debug statements can be disabled with a simple #define statement.

Most of the programming I’ve been doing recently has been in Python, so I haven’t integrated this into any active projects yet. But I think I’ll give this a shot for the reasons mentioned above.

Leave a Reply

