Komodo Edit for Linux

I program on so many different machines and in so many different environments that no one text editor stands out as my favorite. I frequently work on remote machines where only SSH access is available, and so I have developed skills with the command-line editors vim and nano. Even when I’m working on my local machine, I will frequently stick to the command line. When I feel like I need/prefer a graphical text editor, I typically use TextWrangler or Fraise on Mac and gedit on Linux (and Notepad++ on Windows, but it’s been years since I’ve touched Windows machine for anything serious). I’ve been intrigued by more feature-rich editors and IDEs before (Eclipse and NetBeans come to mind), but I always felt like these tools got in the way more than they helped.

I remember briefly using an editor called Komodo on an iMac in my undergraduate research lab. The other day, I learned that Komodo is available for Linux (Komodo edit is free, Komodo IDE requires a paid license). Since my memories with Komodo from a few years ago were positive (or at least non-negative), I decided to install it and give it a shot. The install process was a breeze and I was soon at work on a coding task (Perl in this case). I was immediately at home with this editor–it offers everything you want in a text editor (including some nice features you typically find only in an IDE, such as syntax checking and function hint popups), but it does not get in the way of your programming.

Komodo Edit can be obtained for any platform at this download page. The installation process for Linux is quite simple, and I have included my notes below.

sudo mkdir /usr/local/src/KOMODO
cd /usr/local/src/KOMODO
sudo mv ~/Komodo-Edit-7.0.2-9923-linux-x86_64.tar.gz .
sudo tar xzf Komodo-Edit-7.0.2-9923-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
cd Komodo-Edit-7.0.2-9923-linux-x86_64/
sudo ./install.sh -I /usr/local/src/KOMODO/Komodo-Edit-7
echo 'export PATH=/usr/local/src/KOMODO/Komodo-Edit-7/bin:$PATH' >> ~/.bashrc
komodo

This did a system-wide install of Komodo Edit. If you do not have administrative priviledges or if you only want to install the program for a single user, you can leave off the -I and use the suggested default (which is in the current user’s home directory).

Leave a Reply

